Search for a condition, service or location
Translate this page

Covid 19 Information

Please visit www.ghc.nhs.uk/coronavirus/

A record number of nominations have been received for ²gether’s latest Recognising Outstanding Service and Contribution Awards (ROSCAs).

More than 200 nominations were received for the annual awards, which recognise the dedication of the staff and volunteers who work in mental and social healthcare across Gloucestershire and Herefordshire.

A judging panel, consisting of service users, carers, public governors, trust management, sponsors and staff representatives, faced the difficult challenge of whittling the list down to a shortlist of just three nominations for each category.

Ruth FitzJohn, Chair of  ²gether NHS Foundation Trust, who chaired the panel, said: “As usual, the standard of nominations was extremely high and this led to considerable debate among the judging panel in order to create a shortlist.

“These awards really highlight the high standard of care and support provided by the dedicated individuals who work and volunteer with the trust.

“I thank all of the nominees for their continued dedication, and look forward to celebrating the achievements of all of those shortlisted, as well as the long service award recipients, at our celebratory event next month.”

The nominees will be honoured at an awards ceremony on Friday 26 February, alongside their colleagues who have achieved 20 or 30 years’ NHS service.

The 2015 ROSCAs are being sponsored by Alpha Colour Printers, West of England Academic Health Science Network (WEAHSN), Midcounties Co-operative and Gloucestershire Young Carers.

Deborah Evans, Managing Director of the West of England Academic Health Science Network, which is one of the award sponsors, said:  “We are pleased to sponsor the Recognising Outstanding Service Contribution and Achievement award. There are many inspiring examples of staff going the extra mile to support service users and make an outstanding commitment to the service.”

The shortlisted teams and individuals are as follows:

Unsung hero

  • The ‘4 Me About Me’ Group
  • Dan Beale – Expert by Lived Experience
  • Tracy Hodge and Ellie the PAT dog – Volunteer, Charlton Lane Centre, Cheltenham

Award for Innovation

  • Tina Kukstas – Lead Nurse, Dementia Care, Sherborne House, Cheltenham
  • Marva McIntosh-Rose and Molly Tomkins – Healthcare Assistants, Charlton Lane Centre, Cheltenham
  • Anna Phillips – Senior Nurse Practitioner, The Knoll, Ross on Wye

Carer and Service User Involvement Award

  • Eleanor Heath and Greg Luetchford – Staff Nurse and Clinical Manager, Oak House, Hereford
  • Mental Health Intermediate Care Team Administration Team
  • Andy Telford – CSM West Locality, Gloucestershire

Valuing Diversity

  • Dan Beale, Kathryn Charlesworth and Kate Nelmes – Expert by Lived Experience, Social Inclusion Development Worker, 18 Denmark Road, Communications Manager, Rikenel
  • Elaine Davies and Tanya Stacey – Clinical Team Leader, Belmont, Hereford, and  Social Inclusion Development Worker, Monkmoor Court
  • Kathy Holmes and Zain Patel – Engagement and Involvement Lead, Lexham Lodge, and Social Inclusion Development Worker, 18 Denmark Road, Gloucester

Best Supporting Colleague

  • Tania Allen – Administration and Facilities Manager, Wotton Lawn, Gloucester
  • Paula Mann – Community Support Worker, Fieldview, Gloucester
  • Jenny Rogers – Deputy Ward Manager, Oak House, Hereford

Best Supporting Manager

  • Damian Gardner – Head of AMH Psychology, St Owen Street, Hereford
  • Dr Paul Winterbottom – Medical Director, Rikenel, Gloucester
  • Colin Wright – Deputy Manager, Hollybrook, Stroud

Service Users’ and Carers’ Choice

  • Lisa Bubb – Activities Co-ordinator, Laurel House, Cheltenham
  • Lesley Hirons – Employment Specialist, Burleigh House, Gloucester
  • Alix Hudman – Recovery Occupational Therapist, Park House, Stroud

Non Clinical Team of the Year

  • Catering and Domestic Team, Laurel House, Cheltenham
  • Health Records/Mental Health Act Administration Team
  • IT Department, Rikenel, Gloucester

Clinical Team of the Year

  • Assertive Outreach Team, Leckhampton Lodge, Cheltenham
  • Care Home Support Team, Countywide
  • Dean Ward, Wotton Lawn Hospital, Gloucester

The CEO Award for Outstanding Contribution

Mary Keating, Dementia Education Community and Service Development Lead, Charlton Lane, Cheltenham.